About Diocese of Nnewi

Diocese of Nnewi is one of the Dioceses in Church of Nigeria (Anglican Communion). It was carved out of the old Niger Diocese and inaugurated on 14 February 1996.

The pioneer Bishop of the Diocese is the Most.Reverend Prof. Godwin I.N. Okpala (JP, OON).[1] Bishop Okpala until his consecration, was the Archdeacon of the Old Nnewi Archdeaconry. He was the Archbishop of Province of the Niger. Archbishop Okpala retired on the 17th of September 2019

The current Bishop Rt Revd Ndubuisi Obi was consecrated as the 2nd Bishop of Nnewi Diocese on the 24th of September 2019 at St. Peter’s Cathedral Asaba. He was enthroned on the 27 of September 2019 at the Cathedral Church of St. Mary, Uruagu Nnewi.

Nnewi Diocese has since its inauguration given birth to 2 dioceses namely: Diocese of Amichi and the Missionary Diocese of Ihiala

The Diocese of Nnewi is currently made up of 15 Archdeaconries namely : Cathedral Area, Otolo, Oraifite, Okija, St Andrews DCC, Nnewichi, Umudim, Ozubulu, Ukpor, Okija west, Ichi, Ebonesie Central, Cathedral west, Otolo East, Oraifite East.

Nnewi Diocese is currently embarking on construction of a state of the art University called Pentecost University which when fully completed will become the best mission owned university in the country. The Diocese has a state of art hospital, one Seminary school for boys (Bishop Uzodike Memorial Seminary,Nnewi), two converts for girls namely , Carol Standard Convert, Ichi and Dame Irene Okwuosa Convert, Oraifite.